Many people are busy with work and do not have enough time to spend with family and friends. Why does this happen? What are the effects of this on family life and society as a whole?

It seems to be an increasingly widespread concern that overwork is stealing our family time.And I think that the keen competition and modern communication technology are responsible for this.

In the past, it was not uncommon for the husband to be the bread winner, while the wife stayed home to raise children. This is no longer the case. Nowadays, both men and women have to work to cover increasing costs of living. Moreover, due to booming population and globalization, people have to compete not only with more an more domestic university graduates, but also with qualified job applicants from overseas, in order to obtain a decent position in the workplace. So, this intense social rivalry is one of the root causes of people have less family time.

Another important factor contributing to this phenomenon is the advancement in communication technology. For example, mobile phones and the Internet have increased work efficiency on one hand, but on the other hand they have reduced the time people spent with those they care about. In the past, we would visit our parent’s home and stay with them for several hours during a traditional festival. Later, as mobile phones became popular, we might only give them a two-minute call; now we could express our regards by sending a message in just a few short seconds.

Of course, this issue is bringing some negative effects to both family life and society. The husband and wife may be too tired to have quality time together after work; when they come back home too late, they might not be able to talk and play with their sleeping kids. While material wealth is accumulated, the emotional bonds between people get weaker. The problem many families already have is a social concern. Although many counties deem a higher GDP as the indicator of social progress, I personally do not think this figure can fully represent the happiness and well-being of those members of society.