Some people think that it is best to live in a horizontal city while others think of a vertical city. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

In a contemporary time, people have different views about living in a vertical city. While living at a city with several tall buildings has some disadvantages, I would argue that there are more advantages.

On the one hand, a vertical city has some certain disadvantages. Firstly, high-rise apartments limit green space that supplies fresh air and helps people relax after a long day of work. So, this makes them more stressed out. Secondly, living in a tall building can be unsafe in some cases, For example, when a fire is occurring, people who live inside cannot exit in a fastest way. This is because they have to take the stairs instead of using lifts and if they cannot go out as quick as possible, they will die.

On the other hand, a vertical city has more clear advantages than the drawbacks. With a population explosion, one strength is that a huge number of people can live in a same space. To clarify, tall buildings include not only residential areas but also medical, educational and governmental facilities. Also, people living there can work, eat and shop in the same building. Further more,a long distance travelling to the workplace is shortened within walking distance. This contributes to curb traffic jam in rush hours and air pollution. Another benefit is that people who live in multifunctional buildings can avoid the risks of using private vehicles such as car accidents as well as reduce the demand of using fuel for transports.

In conclusion, although I recognize that the negative effects of living at a vertical city, it seems to me that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.