Some people think that it is fine for professional sportsmen and sportswomen to misbehave on or off the field, as long as they are playing well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that there is no problem even if professional sports players’ behavior is unfavorable as long as their play in their field is excellent. I completely disagree with this statement.

The main reason why I disagree with the opinion that athletes’ behavior does not matter as long as their play is fantastic is that professional sports players should be an excellent role model for the general public. Their great achievements in their fields are appealing to many people because people can learn from their success stories easily that their hard working and self-control make them successful. It provides fans with a great hope that individuals can also success in their lives and encourages them to work hard on their jobs or study. Therefore, sports players’ misbehaviors disappoint their fans significantly because people feel as if they were told a lie by the athletes. Several years ago, an enthusiastic fans of a Japanese professional baseball player Shinnoske Abe committed a suicide after she knew the news of Abe’s love affair.

Another reason is that their unfavorable behavior can have a negative financial impact. Many companies offer popular sportsmen and sportswomen a financial support on because their popularity and success in sports can give a good impression to customers by utilizing them on their advertisements. This can encourage consumers to buy their products. However, their misbehavior can damage the image of the sponsors considerably, making companies lose an enormous profit. A Japanese professional football player Maezono is a good example of this. After the report of his assault to a taxi driver, his supporting companies, including ASSICS and Nike experienced a significant decrease in sportswear and shoes sales.

In conclusion, although some may argue that sports players’ misbehaviors have no problems if they play well, I believe that it cannot be allowed because it can hurt many people and damage sponsors’ profit.