Many people believe that individuals are responsible for their own happiness, while others think happiness is dependent on other external factors. Discuss both views and include your own opinion.

One of the highly controversial issues today relates to whether happiness depends on oneself or other external elements. In this essay, I will examine this question from both points of view and then explain why I agree with the former opinion.

On one side of the argument, some may argue that well-being is an internal matter, which is independent of external factors. This is because it is impossible for the one to tell what makes others happy. This means people can obtain happiness only by pursuing it on their own. Mary, one of my friends, is a shining example of this. She divorced Tom whom introduced by her parents very quickly, but she has been happily married with Brown whom she found by herself and loves from the bottom of her heart.

On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that external elements have a significant influence on one’s happiness. People often have this opinion because happiness is a kind of emotion that are susceptible to external stimulation. In other words, people’s emotional states can change easily according to what is happening around them. For example, a person who has lived a happy life can become unhappy suddenly after experiencing the loss of the loved one. This emotional change is often difficult to control by oneself and only external factors, such as support from others, can relieve sadness.

In conclusion, I believe that both arguments are convincing. On balance, however, I tend to believe that an individual has responsibility for his or her own happiness because it can be found only by oneself, rather than affected by others.