Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles. Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time.

What should we do in our leisure time? This question confuses people to answer, as there is no definite answer. Some say that spare time is a good chance to relax, while others show that we can do valuable things in it. In the following paragraphs, I will shed a light on this argument.

On one hand, many people think that it is better for your brain to relax on rocking chair, take a power nap or spend time alone on the beach for meditation. This gives the chance for the brain to be released from the hassle of the work, get refreshed and to remain healthy. It is important to remember that you are not a machine, so respite is mandatory sometimes, as 24 hours use of the mind can cause stress and many types of health maladies.

On the other hand, due to cutthroat competition in this modern era, some people put forward the idea that using the spare time in leisure activities to improve their mind is necessary. Another noticeable justification is that leisure pursuits such as reading book or novel, writing a diary, playing scrabble, doing some exercises and solving puzzles will help you to enrich your horizon and knowledge as well as cultivate the critical thinking. Improving your mind by these activities will enhance your personality and skills; this can contribute to job achievement or get a promotion.

As spare time is precious, so I think achieving the balance between relaxation and recreational activities is necessary, this depends on the nature of the work you do. If it is mental work as studying, working as a computer operator, it is better to spend your spare time in relaxation or doing exercises. But if your work is physical, so it is a good chance to play mind games.

To recapitulate, how to use your leisure time depends on your personality and type of your job. Achieving balance and putting a plan for your free time is the perfect solution. As the time is precious, we should use it effectively.