Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are

played in teams, like football. While other people think that taking part in

individual sports like tennis or swimming is better.

Sport has been a field arousing public attention for decades. Many residents have recognized that the advantages brought about by team sports are more numerous, whereas opponents of this idea prefer participating in individual sports.

On the one hand, there is a discernible plus for which sports with single players are appreciated. Indeed, taking up individual disciplines, to fulfill their inherent aspiration for victory, participants must shoulder a wide variety of responsibilities by themselves, ranging from strategy development, injury recovery to fitness regime planning. Moreover, during tournaments, it is also only on their own will challenge posed by opponents be tackled. As a result, it can be deduced that individual sports honor individualism, in which the more regularly citizens get involved, the more likely they are to be independent. By contrast, if people compete in team sports, they may have dilemmas dealt by others, leading to a lack of problem-solving skills.

On the other hand, some residents believe that collective sports are beneficial because of two major reasons. Firstly, regarding to participants, team disciplines play an important role in fostering interpersonal skills. Specifically, interaction between teammates may instill a whole array of positive traits, contributing to good team players who can prevent breakdown in communication or motivate others to strive. Secondly, regarding to the community, another advantage stems from collective disciplines’ ability to strengthen solidarity. In particular, playing as a team obviously brings residents into contact, and this is expected to act as a catalyst for developing mutual sympathy. For example, when the entire South Africans celebrated their victory at World Rugby Championship 1995, the triumph was deemed as a milestone after which race discrimination was totally eradicated.

Briefly, while gains contributed by individual sports are remarkable, there are also a number of reasons for which some people have an inclination towards collective disciplines.