Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on publictransport systems To what extend do you agree

Some individuals claim that it is more vital to budget finances on the developments of the national road system than on public transport. This essay disagrees that more attention should be paid to the construction of roads than on the improvements of the country’s public transport. Instead, buses and subways should be prioritized because it helps to reduce environmental pollution and road congestion.

Were more money to invest in building more and more roads and motorways, the number of automobiles on the roads will increase dramatically, which leads to higher levels of emission. In contrast, the developments of public transport result in a reduced number of cars, thereby lowering carbon dioxide and toxic gas production. In other words, since the buses are capable of transporting more passengers at a time than a personal car, they help to combat air and noise pollution, which are detrimental problems in cities. This is supported by a recent study conducted at Oxford University, in which they claim that greenhouse gas emissions can be reduced by 88% if people use public transport to commute at least 14 days per month.

Not only does the pollution, but switching the mode of transport to buses can reduce the traffic congestion, especially in rush hours. Put simply, more vehicles mean more congestion. Congested roads, in turn, reduce the efficiency of transport and are more prone to cause road traffic accidents. Therefore, investing more finances to improve the public transport system will increase the effectiveness of the national transport system, and at the same time ensures the reduced number of motor crashes. According to the annual newsletter of the National Transport Ministry, 75% of traffic accidents would have been prevented if individuals had used buses instead of their cars.

In conclusion, some contend that it is worth allocating more money on the road system rather than on public transport. This essay disagrees with this point of view as this mode of conveyance is extremely helpful in lowering the environmental threats caused by personal vehicles and in reducing traffic congestion, which increases the efficiency of transport and reduces the number of motor accidents.