Some people think it is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment for people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that public money should be invested in preventing diseases by promoting a healthy lifestyle rather than developing therapeutic treatments for the infirm. In my opinion, such an investment should address both of the mentioned issues to truly be comprehensive.

There are various reasons why many people support the idea of focusing on promoting a healthy way of life. First of all, running campaigns encouraging people to devise and stick with a healthy daily routine can help spread the word. Each region can establish their own publishers, specializing in health and lifestyle, and thereby raise public awareness of the significance of keeping fit and stay healthy. Moreover, should people be more aware of their own health, they will try to stay in shape and maintain their personal physical conditions at the top performance and, to all intents and purposes, immunize themselves from common illnesses such as fever, insomnia, and so on. The best part, interestingly, of this proposal lies in the fact that it doesn't cost prohibitive prices and, at the same time, saves a lot of time. Periodicals can be printed on a daily basis and through constant exposure to these materials, people should, and they definitely will, stay conscious of their own health for their own sake.

Although raising public awareness of matters relating to health is important, I think the effects will be even greater if a part of public funding is granted to researching and delivering treatments. No matter how hard one may try, he or she will, at some point, go down with minor sicknesses. It is at times like those that people will realize the importance of medical services. The contemporary treatments and pills have so far proved to be significantly therapeutic, however, if the pharmaceutical and medical industries receive more funding, state-of-the-art devices can be developed, therapies will require less effort and fewer pills will be prescribed and ultimately, more lives can be saved. Having medical services can help prolong our longevity so that we can make the most of our lives.

In conclusion, I reckon the public money should be balanced between promoting a healthy lifestyle and health care since these two mentioned measures, if combined, can make people's lives better.