Some people think that it should be compulsory for people to retake their driving test every 5 years. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

Driving safely has been emphasized through advertising campaigns from start of the 20th century, and there is a growing notion that drivers should be forced to redo their driving test every 5 years. This comes with advantages such as ensuring people drive safely and are up to date with new traffic and road rules. In contrast, there are disadvantages such as the cost of regularly redoing the test and the lengthy waiting time.

Firstly, a renewed driving test can encourage people to drive more responsibly and be in tune with new highway/ safety rules. A key example, Norway, forces its citizens to demonstrate their skills, including in different types of weather conditions, every 3 years, otherwise they lose their licence. This ensures that drivers are skilled enough to drive carefully in harsh weather. Norway also forces its citizens to relearn the rules of the road, which makes sure that motorists are updated and can comply safely to new traffic rules.

On the other hand, repeating the test presents cons such as the high cost of reapplying and wasting weeks waiting for the test date. For instance, in the UK, not only does it cost upwards of £150 to reserve your place in an exam, but there can also be a wait of up to 9 weeks. In the long run, this adds up to a lot of money if folks are obliged to retake the exam every 5 years. In addition, individuals will go weeks without driving as they wait for their test, this would be unfavorable to people that rely on their cars for a living or take their kids to and from school daily.

To conclude, retaking the driving test every 5 years presents benefits such as the population becoming safer drivers as they are tested in new environments and are kept to date with new traffic regulations. Drawbacks also exist such as the expenses of constantly retaking the driving test and wasting weeks waiting to sit the exam.