Some people think that it is a waste of money for countries to host big sporting events like the world cup,and that the money would be better spent on other things. However, others think that hosting large sporting events has a clear, positive impact on a country.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

People have different opinions as to whether nations should spend the national budget on hosting international sporting events. Personally, I believe that the events have beneficial impacts on the host nations as a whole.

Advocates of the former view might assert that spending on sporting events could hurt countries’ economies. Staging the international sporting events would incur enormous expenses, to the detriment of the host nations’ budgets. So significant is the expenditure on the renovation of stadiums, the implementation of higher levels of security, and the employment of performance artists that developing nations can hardly afford it. For example, instead of spending billions of dollars on hosting the 2010 World Cup and then drowning in debt, South Africa should have expended those budgets on addressing the physiological needs of their citizens, such as improving the standard of living and eliminating starvation.

However, I support the view that nations might reap a multiplicity of benefits from staging those sporting events. Firstly, A wide range of employment opportunities are made available during years of planning and investment, and this will contribute to a decrease in unemployment. Secondly, enthusiasm and excitement are an indispensable part of these events; it is clear that the host nation’s population will experience an emotional boost that will result in an overall increase in life satisfaction. Lastly, such events are conducive to the development of culture and tourism in the host nations. Social cohesion and cultural understanding are further developed, thanks to stadiums and arenas thronged with flows of people from all over the world coming together and learning about each other.

In conclusion, I concur with the portion of people who believe that the benefits of hosting international events would outweigh the drawbacks, although the resultant economic impact is no doubt worth further investigation.