Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

Regularly riding a bike is a more effective way of protecting the environment than using any other types of vehicle. Personally, I believe the fact that biking is not popular these days is attributed to inconvenience and safety, but there are two strategies to make their use more popular.

I believe the contributory factors to the less common use of bikes are because they are slow and unsafe. One fundamental reason is that compared with other means of transport, such as planes and cars, bikes are the slowest form of transportation. In particular, people commuting long distances on a daily basis would find biking an unreasonable choice since they are very likely to be late for work. Another reason is that biking is arguably one of the most dangerous activities when taking weather and risks into consideration. In fact, an accident could occur anytime as a result of a slippery road, loss of concentration, or a drunk driver, and if the rider were not wearing a helmet and struck his head on the pavement, his life would be at risk.

There are a couple of tactics that governments could use to promote the use of bikes. First, the government could impose higher taxes on fuel prices, which would discourage many people from using cars. Given the rise in fuel costs, commuters who go by private cars would find it virtually impossible to accommodate the compounding costs of vehicles, accommodation and meals, and hopefully, they would eventually turn to alternatives such as bikes. Second, many people these days seem oblivious to the deterioration of air quality and the environment, so environmental campaigns would help to develop their environmental awareness. For instance, an event that was hosted by a group of environmentalists in Vietnam not just discouraged local people from littering but also made them aware that exhaust fumes discharged from their cars are detrimental to their surroundings, and how biking could be beneficial to the environment.

In conclusion, I am convinced that the leading causes of biking being not popular are its safety and slowness, and tax imposition and environmental campaigns are conducive to the promotion of biking.