Some people think that it would be better for large companies and industry to move to regional areas outside large urban centres. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the process of industrialization has led countries to propose that large companies and industries should be moved out of urban areas and established in areas outside of cities. This issue has caused a number of opinions about the benefits and negatives from quite individual perspectives. From my point of view, the advantages that companies and citizens get from this outweigh the disadvantages.

One the one hand, there are some major disadvantages to companies moving from city centers to suburbs. Firstly, it will lead to unemployment in cities due to limited jobs in the urban areas. In fact, the vast majority of workers live in the city or nearby. For instance, with the shifting of the companies from the metro-cities, the number of job openings in the urban centres will decline and it will lead to unemployment of the majority of people in the city. Furthermore, the consumer base may not be as large as that in cities and towns, so it may be cause economic crisis to some industries supplying and distributing of products after the post-production phase.

On the other hand, I believe that companies shifting from highly populated city centers to less populated rural areas have various positive effects. With the development of factories and other enterprises in remote areas, local people get a plethora of job opportunities, they will not migrate to mega cities if better job opportunities are available in their local areas. As a result, poor households will decrease and the population ratio will be equal between cities and rural areas. In addition, the movement of big firms may decline overpopulation in many cities, so it will reduce the congestions and toxic emissions in the cities.

In conclusion, the industries should be well informed about all the upsides and downsides of this plan in order to make a wise decision. In my opinion, the industries would have a lot more opportunities to excel if they decide to relocate to regional areas.