Some people think that libraries are a waste of resources and money so computers should replace them. However, others do not agree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The sustainability of the library is one of the most significant discussion issues these days. Some people argue that it is unnecessary to maintain people’s profit and should find other digital storage media to replace. I completely disagree with this opinion and would suggest both opinion and the reason why.

It is mainly considered that the library is a kind of old heritage that is not used anymore and especially a huge architecture to take up too much space which should have been used as a factory site to produce profits. And also another opinion to consider is that the library is not able to make profits in the short-term period for the local residents who want to get a job. As the maintenance budget for public libraries is also a burden to each council, it derives the money and human resources from the budget which could have used for job creation for young people.

However, there are other people insist that the profitability of the library itself. Firstly, it can be the best option to store knowledge and information rather than a computer or other digital technology. As the development of informative technology is so fast, a new type of digital device can only survive in two shakes of a lamb’s tail. For instance, the VHS-type recording device which had spread on the globe in the 20th century could not be used in normal houses anymore. Moreover, digitising data of books should require a huge amount of budget to the government and council and the data should also be replaced periodically in accordance with the development of recording technology. It could allow much waste of money and time to preserve data.

For those reasons I suggest above, I definitely disagree with the opinion that the existence of the library is a waste and the possibility of replacement by the computer as a recording device for data storage. Only sustaining the library is the easiest and efficient method to reduce the budget and hand down the old and wise knowledge to the future generation.