In some countries, the number of people who visit art galleries is declining. What are the reasons for this? How can we solve the problems.

The habit of visiting museums or art galleries to appreciate artworks has become out of date these days. I would like to suggest the reasons why it happens and how to tackle the relevant problems we faced.

Basically, there is a phenomenon that moving the public interest from art to other habits through the development of internet and mobile technology. Most people are more likely to have other habits such as games or Netflix which make people apart from the art galleries and art itself. Moreover, the art galleries or museums are not productive in terms of economics, the operation budget continuously has been reduced by the government or councils every year which results in blocking or minimising art programs or exhibitions which can develop new fields. It makes people feel bored in the art galleries and decline their interests from it.

To tackle those issues involving the decline of the number of visitors, making a new art exhibition or program to drag visitors’ attention is the first method to use. Especially a kind of collaboration between art and new technology devices can be effective. Additionally, creating more school curriculums in the art can be seen as positive to people who might have an interest in art but do not know how to approach the art field. This method is likely to discover potential visitors for future art galleries.

To conclude, many people do not visit the art galleries and museums as they have other habits such as internet games or Netflix and the decline of interesting art programs. So we can tackle those issues to creating more attractive art programs to appealing to modern internet-friendly generation and make more school lessons in the art to discover the potential visitors for the future of art galleries.