Some people think that living in big cities is bad for people’s health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been increasing advocacy that settling in large urban areas brings detrimental effects to people’s health. From my perspective, despite some undeniable advantages that this activity may bring about, I strongly believe that living in major cities takes a heavy toll on individuals’ well-being.

On the one hand, it is obvious that residing in big cities brings some positive aspects for people’s mental health due to its convenient living conditions and contemporary facilities. For example, individuals can easily recharge their batteries and take a load off after stressful and hectic schedules through modern entertainment in shopping malls and amusement parks, which are hard to find in rural areas. Additionally, large cities provide more comfortable and accessible medical services for citizens.

On the other hand, the negative sides of living in big cities are far more crucial. First, the frenetic lifestyle in big cities forces individuals to work hard and even juggle multiple jobs to afford high living expenses and accommodation costs. Consequently, lacking quality time for friends and family causes many people to suffer from chronic anxiety and loneliness. Second, in this modern society, the development of industry and services in big cities causes more pollution, posing a direct threat to citizens’ physical health. For example, fine dust from vehicles and factories damages people’s lung, and industrial wastes from burning fossil fuels lead to a host of other health problems.

In conclusion, while living in big cities brings numerous advantages to our lives, I am strongly up to the opinion that it brings destructed impacts on both the mental and physical well-being of citizens.