Most countries aim to improve their standard of living through economic development, but many important social values can be lost as a result. Do the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the majority of countries all around the world consider economic growth as the key driver of better living standards. Nevertheless, this trend would result in the loss of numerous essential social values. In my viewpoint, while economic development has both pros and cons, I do believe that its detrimental effects far outweigh the positive side.

Increasing economic progress increases personal prosperity, which creates a better quality of life for citizens. With greater financial resources at their disposal, individuals can not only fulfill their basic needs like groceries and shelter but also indulge in luxuries such as traveling to beautiful destinations and buying high-end products that they always dreamed of. However, this economic advancement also exerts a variety of adverse effects on both individuals and the family. When money plays the most important role in our lives, people tend to strive for financial success, hence easily entangled in a fiercely competitive market. For example, family is the most impacted when people have to work late hours at the office and have a hectic schedule because they will find it struggle to find quality time to reunite like having dinner together or hanging out for a picnic. As a result, the familial bonds will be strained and most affected in a negative direction and children may suffer from neglect, and lack of love and attention they require.

As economies grow and societies prosper, numerous detrimental impacts overshadow the benefits as people overly focus on acquiring material possessions. Consequently, there can be a shift away from ethical behavior as well as self-centered and more valuing personal gain. Additionally, this phenomenon can lead to environmental degradation as environmental resources are being exploited, while simultaneously widening the gap between the rich and the poor, exacerbating social tensions and disparities.

In conclusion, while improving the standard of living through economic development shows undeniable positive aspects, it seems to me that it exacts a heavy toll on society's foundational values and the disadvantages far outweigh the advantages.