Some people think the media should not report details of crimes to the public. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, the information about crimes draws a myriad of attention from the public. While I agree that this information should be given to the community in detail, I think in some special situations the media shouldn’t do that. This essay will set out to explain why.

There are some compelling reasons why the media should show the detail information about the crimes. Firstly, residents could have a deep sight into illegal activities. Thanks to those signs so that people may protect themselves by recognizing signs of some prevalent crimes in the streets or public transports such as pickpockets and theft easier, therefore the society will be more secure in the future. Secondly, a crime report could help the public enhance more knowledge about what they have to pay when breaking the law. Through TV news or social media, they can be provided helpful information about crime identity, strictly punishment as well as a warning to citizens. It seems a good way to reduce the amount of crime in society indirectly.

However, in some cases, the media should not supply information about crime in detail because of some reason. For one, in some of the advanced circumstances, the details of the case need to keep it secret. If this information is declared to the public then some other crimes may mimic and learn the tricks of the recent case. Furthermore, the personal identity of some offenders should not show in the media leading to protect the private information of them when the investigations are inconclusive.

In conclusion, reporting details of crimes to the community seems to be a serious problem. The government should take responsibility for controlling whether information about crimes would be given to the public correctly and individuals need to conceive the criminal information wisely as well.