News media are important in our modern society. Why are they so important? Are their influences generally positive or negative?

In recent decades, it is true that news media have gained in popularity also played a crucial role in our lives. Although there are still drawbacks to media news, I think its benefits are more remarkable.

One the one hand, the appearance of news media products could bring some disadvantages. First, there is a sharp increase in advertising programs on television as well as radio, which makes audiences feel annoyed. Those advertisements will occasionally appear in the form of pops up when you watching the video on YouTube, Facebook or the others. Second, some online magazines and journals contain adult contents that were uncensored before, leading to harmful effects to children under 18 years old. It will probably become the deep caused of a high crime rate in society as well.

On the other hand, I would argue that the downsides given above are eclipsed by a number of positive points. The news media help people get the latest news in a very short time which we couldn’t get in over the last few years. Possessing personal devices like mobile phone, you can get news daily through the media and this keeps them updated on the happenings around the world by some touch in your screen as long as your phone can connect to the internet. Furthermore, this can in turn increase sales of the product of many companies and brands. For example, according to a report taken by market researchers in the US, the amount of products sold from Coca-Cola Corporation is more than five times as this figure without advertising campaigns through media news.

In conclusion, I believe that the drawbacks in terms of the news media are outweighed by its benefits related to society and the economy.