Some people think that men are naturally more competitive than women. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Gender discrimination has been a burning topic in recent years, as women are underestimated in various aspects. The inequality between two sexes has led to an assumption that man are born to be a better competitor than woman. While there are some reasons why men are believed to be more competent, I do believe that the competitiveness between two genders should be placed equally.

On the one hand, men tend to be more competent than women in some cases. The reason is that, males are favorable in many parts of the world. In some patriarchal society where males have more rights than females, it is almost impossible for women to participate in competitions, such as political fights or job enrolments. Taking Chad as a typical example, women in this country barely have a chance to get access to education. Another reason is that, women have certain biological duties, such as giving birth or nourishing kids, that constrain them from going further in education or career ladder. As the result, some women quit their jobs or participate in light work in order to serve their families.

Although females face various difficulties that limit their capabilities, their competitveness are undoubtable. In schools, girls perform just as well, or even better than boys. Without the competitiveness, the result can be much different. In addition, women now work in almost every field, from traditional work such as tailor or housewife, to tough work like soldier or pilot and even politician. These jobs indicate that women’ capabilities are just equal to that of males, not to mention their sacrifices to families in some certain circumstances. With reasons discussed above, two genders’ abilities and comptitiveness should be considered equivalently.

Yet it is hard to measure individual’s competitiveness, and even more complicated to estimate a gender’s willingness to compete. A boy might be competitive in his job, but not in his social life and vice versa. Moreover, it is much to the environment that greatly influences the people’ eagerness to compete. If children, disregard of gender, grow in a family with parents are highly competitve, they are expected to be competitive. Therefore, gender does not play a significant role in determine the level of competitiveness of a person.

In conclusion, women are just as capable and competitive as men, even if they carry family’s duties or suffer social discrimination. Competitiveness is, however, abstract and hard to measure, and not to mention the fact that the environment is the decisive element in shaping a person’s competitive personality.