Some people think that men are naturally more competitive than women. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People tend to have a different views about whether men and women differ in their natural ability and performance to compete. Although both genders tend to be naturally different in various ways, I believe that being keen to compete does not related to their nature but nurture.

On the other hand, I believe that having a competitive personality does not related to human’s nature and it is absolutely acquired during people’s life which is not different in men and women. As Children are risen in different families with various culture and cultural preferences, they can be faced with different amount of competitiveness in their parents while they are growing up. As a result if a boy or a girl grows up in a family whose parents are eager to compete, children will learn this behavior and they will become more competitor in their future life because they are taught to be like this. That is why I believe that both males and females achieve their competitive personality in their life and their families directly affect their ability to compete with others.

Moreover, whilst there are many gender differences between both sexes, the competitiveness gap is related to the environment on which people grow. If children grow in a family that men are usually seen as a powerful sex, their self-confidence will improve throughout years and it makes them to believe in their abilities more than women and vice versa. People with higher self-esteem are tend to have a more competitive personality because hardly do they see themselves as a looser and that actually increase their eagerness to compete with others. As a result people are flourished to be a competitor human kind and this can be seen in both males and females according to their families’ cultural beliefs.

In conclusion, while there is a wide gulf between men and women natural characteristics, in my opinion, being a competitor has no relation to people’s sex because they gain this personality in their life.