There are two different views on whether the modern world makes us more independent or more rely on others. As far as I am concerned, we are becoming by far more independent nowadays contrast to past time.

There are several reasons why some people think that we are more dependent on each other. Firstly, with the development of economy and society in the modern world, the living cost has increased dramatically. For example, the extremely high prices of housing prevent young workers from affording their own houses without their parents’ support. Secondly, team work, nowadays, plays a increasingly important role in our study and work; therefore, it is impossible for us to accomplish tasks very well without the cooperation with others. Thirdly, young couples seem to be more ambitious recently, both husbands and wives tend to have a full-time job, and they must depend on their parents or babysitters to take care of their young children.

However, I would agree with the opinion held by others who believe that people are more independent in recent time. There is no denying that families are becoming smaller and more dispersed in most modern cities, which mean family members mainly depend themselves to earn a living instead of rely on their relatives. In addition, young adult who just became a graduate tends to begin their career in metropolis, which means they may have to leave their parents and friends to start a new life alone. Moreover, the rapid growth of technologies makes it possible for us to work or study well without others’ assistance.

In conclusion, some reasons support the opinion people depend on each other, but my own view is that the modern world makes us more independent than ever.