Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of the old houses in the local areas, while others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own styles. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people believe that new houses should follow the style which is popular in the area. However, others contend that we should welcome unconventional architecture. I argue that it would be better if we build new houses on the base of modern designs.

On the one hand, although there are some advantages, the original houses have some disadvantages. From a positive perspective, traditional constructions actually provide a link to our roots. In other words, it is clear that if new buildings ceaselessly follow the original construction, this really helps tangible cultural heritage to exist continuously. However, the new houses which are built based on traditional materials such as natural stones or wood is probably unaffordable. Although stone quarries or wood are quite available, their cost actually is much more expensive than new construction materials.

On the other hand, I believe that it is beneficial if modern constructions become more popular. One reason is that the cost of building materials is more affordable than natural ones. Besides, not only much cheaper, but the materials revolution also has consistently introduced new products which are more durable and consequently less maintenance expenditure than the traditional counterparts. Furthermore, if individuals have the right to construct new houses follow their own styles, this is really a good chance to unleash creativity. Although they also tend to dismiss traditional idea and fail to blend in with surroundings, houses which are built on personal styles make their owner feel comfortable.

In conclusion, while the style of the old houses has some certain benefits, I believe that people should have the right to design their own houses on the basis of financial condition and creativity.