Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of the old

houses in the local areas, while others think that people should have the freedom to

build houses of their own styles. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some people believe that new houses should be constructed in the same style as the traditional houses in the locality, others argue that everyone should be free to design and built their own house the way they prefer. I completely agree with the second group.

On the one hand, following the existing architectural styles of a local area will have a profound value in preserving the traditional and cultural identity. Buildings which have historical significance provide a link to our roots, traditional houses possess character and they give a strong sense of identity to local people. Moreover, a destination well- known for ancient beauty can attract tourists and boost the development of tourism, take Hoi An, which is one of the most famous ancient cities in Vietnam as an example. Local people in this city are encouraged to conserve old houses or to construct new buildings following traditional styles.

On the other hand, I believe that it is essential to welcome change and allow individuals to have the right to choose their own style for their house. Their right would be violated if they were forced to follow the style of old buildings which they do not feel comfortable. In terms of the building costs, the money spent on constructing a house in architectural style tend to be higher compared with their modern counterparts. Traditional materials like natural stones or wood are difficult to obtain and more expensive, these are not affordable for all people. Nowadays, these materials are replaced by some other materials such as concrete, which is available and suitable for people’s budgets.

In conclusion, although constructing houses in traditional style brings many advantageous benefits, I do believe that the owners should be allowed to decide the way their own house will be built.