Some people think that newspapers are the best way to learn news. However, others believe that they can learn news more effectively through other media. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

In the world of growing advanced technology, the role of newspapers as the best means of transferring information has provoked considerable controversy. While some people still support this opinion, others have found other media more useful to obtain information. thus, this essay is going to weigh up pros and cons of both sides, then showing my perspectives on the matter.

To begin with, there is no room for doubt that newspapers have long been a widely popular news channel for their reliability. The information on newspaper are likely to be verified carefully before being published so as to minimize the risk of faulty news that would possibly ruin the reputation of the publishers. The checking process with various steps and people involved will investigate the authenticity of sources of news, the writing style of articles, relevant illustrative images and so on. thus, it may take more time, making newspaper less up-to-date than other digital media, which can immediately spread news when they happen.

On the other hand, there are many other types of media emerging in the modern life, especially, social media, which are claimed to be the fastest growing in popularity. Since social networking sites are sharing platforms, users can post any news they encounter in their daily life at the click of the mouse, thus making social media a fertile source of news. due to their ease to use, the news can be spread easily and widely at an astonishing speed. For example, Facebook is now becoming one of the most effective way to get information thanks to its billions of users, or in other words, billions of amateur “journalists”. However, due to the lack of verification, the news on social media may be manipulated for several personal benefits. More seriously, some distorted news can even trigger adverse effects or great losses to the society.

By considering both views, it is reasonable to state that every media has its own advantages and disadvantages. thus, from my point of view, news learners should smartly utilize all media at their disposal by making best use of the strong points and overcoming the drawbacks of each channel. For example, they should use social media to stay updated but still remain conscious by checking the news again on newspaper to prove its authenticity. By using media effectively, people can obviously become more knowledgeable and up-to-date.