In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.Why is this the case?What can be done about this problem?

Over the past few decades, famine has posed a serious threat to the existence of human beings in many parts of the world, particularly those undeveloped countries. Despite the fact that scientists have found innovative ways to improve farming practices and increase crop yields to meet global demand for food, many people are still at risk of starvation. To delve deeply into this issue, this essay will explore the causes of famine and provide possible solutions to this situation.

In fact, this disturbing phenomenon is ascribed to climate change and civil war. To begin with, climate change is the first factor contributing to severe famine. There is some evidence that extreme weather patterns closely linked to climate change would directly affect food production, giving rise to widespread food shortages and famine. For example, rising temperatures not only sharply cut down crop yields by reducing soil fertility but also increase the populations of pest insects, harming yields of staple crops like wheat, soybeans, and corn. Aside from the temperature escalation, extreme precipitation and droughts would inundate vast areas of cropland and destroy crops, thereby reducing agricultural output and increasing the likelihood of famine.

In addition to climate change, civil war is another reason why people are suffering hunger. Due to social and political mayhem, the majority of farmers might be evicted from their arable land with their crops and livestock devastated by rebels or invaders. As the war is raging on, those farmers who are not banished from their homes might be restricted access to water, fertilizer and forage. With no one growing food, famine is an inevitable consequence. For instance, the tribal clashes in Congo left a quarter of farmers unable to grow crops, thus leading to one-fifth of the population in dire need of food assistance.

Despite the threat and horror of famine, this crisis could be solved by raising public awareness of environmental protection and delivering humanitarian aid to war-ravaged areas. First, it is incumbent upon governments to improve people’s knowledge about climate change and educate people about its impact on famine. Governments can offer people free educational and awareness-raising programs about global warming, informing them of the famine-related calamities caused by the rising temperature or abnormal weather patterns. What is more, governments can launch a social campaign to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. Second, humanitarian aid is another strategy to address the problem of hunger in conflict zones. As food insecurity in conflict-stricken countries is deteriorating, it is crucial for humanitarian efforts to provide affected communities with food relief and livelihood support. Apart from delivering life-saving food and water through roads and rivers, international humanitarian organizations can drop food on the war-torn areas by parachutes or drones. Though humanitarian aid only serves as a temporary support for some countries ravaged by war, it can effectively save more people from dying of starvation.

In conclusion, famine is a complex problem that affects a lot of people nowadays. There is no single cause of this phenomenon, but the two factors such as climate change and civil war are the two main contributors to widespread hunger. Nevertheless, the effect of famine on people around the world could be mitigated as long as we put more effort into protecting our planet and provide humanitarian relief for people plagued by war.