Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nobody can deny that parents play a key role in shaping a childs ideology. However there are people who claim that it is the school's responsibility to grow children into good citizens. There are valid arguments on both sides, which I will discuss now.

On the one hand, it might be said that teachers are the best advisors for children. It is because parents usually overprotective and want their children only to be successful and therefore teach them to pursue material things in life. In contrast, teachers want pupils to become useful for society and hence their guidance appear to be more appropriate than that of parents. In addition, there are many things that children can learn only in school. For example, in school kids need to interact with their peers that may belong to different social backgrounds or nationalities. This means that children will learn that every person is equal and the importance of been tolerant to the people who may seem different.

On the other hand, it is true that parents have the biggest influence on their children. The ideas that they implant on their children are more powerful than that of teachers and therefore it is in the first place the responsibility of parents to nurture children to become a good citizens. For example, parents may act as a role models and demonstrate dignity and kindness as most children imitate their parents. Furthermore, it is notable that majority of offenders had to deal with family problems when they were children and this stimulated them to choose a criminal path.

In conclusion, it might be said that school and family are two most important places where children develop their world view. In my opinion, parents are more responsible for teaching their children how to be a good citizen as their influence supersede any other external influences.