Some people think that public health is the responsibility of the government while others think that people should be responsible for their own health. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Several people believed that the matter of citizen well-being is the responsibility of local authorities, whereas the others claimed that citizens should take care of their own health. In this essay, I will discuss the two viewpoints before giving my personal opinion on the issue.

On the one hand, the government has more power in promoting physical and mental health of its residents than they themselves do. To be more precise, the authorities can enact legislation for the native to follow in an effortless way while it is less feasible when it comes to the individuals. Take the Danish government as an example, after imposing a fat tax on the production of chocolate and other fatty products, residential demand for the intake of them has obviously decreased considering statistics in the past. Since then, the policy has led to a reduction in the occurrences of certain diseases such as obesity, heart attack and a host of other health hazards in which high calories intake act as a major cause.

On the other hand, it is apparent that a citizen can take charge of his health more thoroughly than the government does. For instance, when it suddenly dawns on somebody with an appetite for sweet food that he is too obese, he himself will seek ways to tackle with his condition. By going to the nutritionist for advice on diet, or enrolling in a gym for personal training, he is actually finding solutions for himself, and the fat tax on chocolate, which is imposed by the government for example, will facilitate him in doing so, owing to the fact that purchasing chocolate now requires a higher amount of money.

In conclusion, from my perspective, the problem with public health does not rest with either the people only or merely the administrator bodies, but it is the duty of them both. However, it is suggested that the government take first steps to organise more effective conferences to reach a consensus on this matter rather than passing the buck on the other/ pushing the responsibilities on the other.