Watching TV shows and movies about crime is becoming more and more popular.

Why is this? What effect does that have on society?

The surprisingly high box-office of criminal movies has shown the ordinary people interest in this field. In my perspective, people watch these shows as a leisure activity to satisfy their curiosity and compare the psychological similarities in them and in others. In spite of their initial aim, this deed could lead to both negative and positive aspects to society.

Legend has it that humans are innately curious creatures. For that reason, the topic of criminal lives is always something out of ordinary people's hands, launching a great appeal to human minds. Especially in a criminal movie, besides the amusement in which people figure out which suspect is the real perpetrator, the audiences could make a guess at the motive and the process criminals enacted as well. Therefore, people can try to parse out whether or not these individuals are driven by a particular purpose or they are just harming humans to fulfill morbid desires. If the end results appeared to be exactly right compared to what audiences had previously guessed, they could accordingly take pride in their logical inference.

Nevertheless, in reality we all know for sure that every sinner presumably has his own pity. By discovering the background of him, the audience could compare with their psychological inner souls and in people around them to understand and to empathize with the criminal's misery. Therefore, people could take precautions before a suspicious person’s chance of committing crimes. However, there remains some risk of children accessing criminal shows, since these movies usually contain a whole host of bloody and violent scenes, making it more complicated for parents to control their offsprings’ feelings and attitudes towards people and lives.

In conclusion, people watch crime shows as a satisfying hobby and have a comparison with their psychological characteristics. It is advisable that parents teach their children to be critical audiences. Only by awareness of distinguishing legal and moral actions from the opposite ones, children would not become badly influenced by criminal thinking of perpetration.