Some people think that public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free to the people who use it To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is irrefutable to state that government is elected by the people for the welfare of the society. Law-makers should spend monetary resources on local transportation so that everyone can use it without paying any kind of charges. I agree with this statement to a large extent as traffic problems can be solved and factions pay tax to the higher authority.

To commence with, poor individuals can use the transport facility. If the local transport have lower fares then citizens can easily commute from one place to another. To exemplify, in Punjab, the government have provided the transport provision free of cost for women so they can travel conveniently. In addition to this, air pollution can be decreased. Since the residents will give more importance to public transportation, it will reduce the emission of harmful gases in the environment. Resultantly, it will ameliorate the quality of air.

Moving further, traffic hurdles can be solved. Because inhabitants will give less preference to their private vehicles, the problem of traffic congestion will be mitigated. Eventually, the rate of accidents will decline. Furthermore, residents pay tax to the government. As higher taxes are paid by the natives, it is a responsibility of authority to solve people's menace. If the locals pay tax to the authority then why law-makers should not devote their funds to local transport system?

However, I may not overlook the othe side too, the higher authority have other fields to invest money. While devoting maximum income on public transport, government will not be able to give priorities to other sectors. As a result, it will burgeon the burden on authority. What is more, public transport will be overcrowded. When government provide amenities without any cost, it will allure more citizens toward it. To cite an example, in Punjab, the roadway buses are always full with ladies as they have free access to it.

To conclude, investing money on public transport is extremely mandatory. Although local transport will become overcrowded, yet impoverished masses can use the transport facility without any difficulty.