Some people think the purpose of education is to prepare the future workforce and make good members of society. Others think the purpose of education should lead to self-fulfillment. What is your opinion?

The aim of education has been discussed for centuries by a massive number of experts, officials, and common people, which makes the answers more tangled and complicated. Some people argue that the content of education should focus on the demand of society so that educated people can get accustomed to various social works quickly, while the other claim the role of education in the process of achieving personal ambitions.

For the one side, education is an indispensable step for all of us before we enter the society. Without receiving education, people could not grab necessary living and learning skills which optimizes their working efficiency and improving living standards. For instance, many practical courses in schools or universities are designed for the professional job, in which what students are prone to high relate to the requirements of job market, such as accounting, management, and IT. Only in this way can the society become more effective and better in that qualified youth people continues to get in every corner of the society through society-oriented education.

Conversely, personal ambition is the other purpose of education, which means the reason why individual seeks for a better education is no longer for the whole society but their own dreams. These evidences are increasing as the society is progressing. Unlike their ancestors who dedicated themselves for the country even if they obtained education in top universities and had opportunities to enjoy better lives, people in nowadays tend to stay aboard to have a higher living standards after receiving education.

From my standpoint, these two opinions are not contradictory because people is able to serve the society wherever they live in. Thanks to the convenient communication and service technology, locations and intentions do not attach importance to the social consequence any more.