Some people think that the purpose of TV news programs is to entertain viewers. Others believe that news programs should be educational and informative. What do you think the purpose of TV news programs is? Support your opinion with reasons and examples.

It is believed that the goal of TV news channels must be amusing the audiences outside working hours while others think that newcasts should be informative and educational. Along with elucidating it, I am going to elaborate on personal preference for the latter.

On the one hand, the news media should be the source of information for their viewers. Firstly, individuals are likely to find entertaining programs to release stress after hard-working time. However, due to the characteristics of the show which makes viewers laugh, the information could not be trustworthy. Secondly, citizens who have a heavy workload do not have enough time to boost their grasp. Therefore, TV programs should be educational to make sure that people can gain knowledge in the nick of time.

On the other hand, it seems to me that news on entertaining programs that are not verified will make people feel sceptical. Citizens need an official channel to keep an update on any changes in the world such as wars or environmental problems. Not the same with entertainment shows which will transform their content if directors gain any complaint to increase the rating, TV news only provides accurate information. Besides, TV news programs nowadays often integrate new trends in their reports, which makes people from all ranges of age feel interested while watching it. Due to watching broadcasts on TV, people will become more erudite.

In conclusion, I am in the opinion that the final aim of TV news programs should be educational and informative.