Some people think that radio has become out-of-date, and there is no need to listen to the radio for entertainment and news. Do you agree or disagree?

Ever since the appearance of modern technology, there has been a controversy over the radio has come to the verge of extinction or continued its adventure to be a means of entertaining and updating information. In my point of view, such pessimism is ungrounded and this device has a great deal of benefits that can not be replaced in the future.

In today's society, it’s undeniable that modern technologies such as smartphones, tablets, computers have been used widely by young adults and people with high interest in technology. Given the fact that these up-to-date gadgets are very addictive to not only the mature but also children from a very young age. With just one portable device, they can have access to various forms of entertainment like watching movies, listening to music, reading news. However, these devices require internet connection to approach and the price to purchase a single modern device is very high in comparison with a radio. As a result, many people with low income or in poor rural areas where electricity is costly and precious can not afford to purchase a modern one and are still loyal to the radio.

Apparently, radio doesn’t have all the functions that a luxury device has; however, it still remains its vitality as an accompaniment of many people. According to research, 71% of car drivers listen to the radio while driving on the way. This device may be small but it can bring forth drivers with an ocean of knowledge. By listening to the radio, drivers have a variety of choices to channels such as VOV traffic, VOV5 which teaches every language, VOV music, VOV news. For taxi drivers who spent almost their day in the car to make a living, radio has always been a valuable source of absorbing knowledge through educational channels, entertaining through Zone FM, or updating news instantly to avoid traffic jams during rush hour, finding the best way to get to the destination as soon as possible. So it’s obvious that everything a driver needs is nothing more but a portable radio to go along with.

Besides accompanying car drivers, radio has also been a friend of many families for years. The development of technology does not mean that everyone has a chance to approach it as in some poor rural areas, they don’t even have enough electricity to use, not to mention having internet to access to these modern devices. Meanwhile, radio can catch signals from a very far distance to operate channels and it’s a useful way for people from remote areas to highlands to attain daily news and intellectuality.

In summary, there is no doubt that advanced technology will take part in many aspects of our lives; however, I believe that there is no such thing that can take over the crown of radio as long as it can still create benefits to a group of people.