Some people think that school children need to learn practical skills such as car maintenance or bank account management along with the academic subjects at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely acknowledged that the primary objective of school education is to impart theoretical knowledge and not acquisition of life skills. However, it does not necessitate schools offering car repair or bank account management lessons, in my opinion.

There are several obvious advantages to maintaining the focus of school education to the teaching of academic subjects, namely science, mathematics, history and languages. It is a well-known fact that we now live in a knowledge based economy in which independent thinking and problem solving skills are more crucial to success at the workplace. Further, we should not overlook the fact that many ineluctable subjects are currently finding their way into the curriculum such as business management and computers. Their inclusion has rendered timetables full, leaving schools little time to teach any life skills.

Moreover, skills such as operating a bank account or fixing a car are not too complex or profound to be taught in an academic setting. People hardly complain about not having taught how to avail of banking services when they were in school. Financial prudence is usually gained in later stages of life by making pecuniary transactions on a daily basis. Finally, car maintenance is an inconsequential skill as most people prefer taking their cars to a qualified mechanic to fixing them on their own.

To conclude, school hours are too limited to fit in practical skills such as accounting or car fixing. Any effort to incorporate them in the curriculum would only upset the study of more important academic subjects.