Some people think that school children need to learn practical skills such as car maintenance or bank account management along with the academic subjects at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Together with mandatory subjects at school, youngsters are believed to gain several benefits from being taught soft skills. However, this reasoning is not sound as studying such extra knowledge will not always be necessary for children as well as put them under more pressure.

First of all, it would be a waste of time if students of those life skills realize that they are useless for them. As Einstein does not need to know how to repair a car, Newton does not necessarily learn to manage his bank account - everyone has their own role in life. As a result, youths should only gain knowledge in aspects which are helpful the most to them such as a future fisherman will be better off learning about fishing, or a chemist will get more benefits by focusing on studying chemical elements.

Another reason for not forcing underage learners to additionally study life skills is the amount of pressure it will put on them. Take the case of Vietnamese students, who have already had 13 subjects at school, for example. As gaining knowledge about new things requires students a considerable length of time to practice to become skillful; however, those young adults have apparently suffered enough from their in-school responsibilities that a little of extra burden may be over-tolerable to them.

On the whole, although some school goers may get several advantages from gaining soft skills, I would strongly argue the implementation of this idea as such experience are not only unnecessary in many cases but also may become an anxiety for them.