Some people think that schools should concentrate on academic courses which are usèul to the career of students; courses like music and sports are not useful and therefore should not be offered. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For some people, schools should focus on academic disciplines to better prepared for students’ future career, while alternatives such as music and sports should not be added to the syllabus. Personally, both mindset are logical , but the latter really convince me more.

On one hand, gifted subjects like music and sports should not be offered at school for many reasons. At first, teaching academic courses is considered as the principle approach of schools to ensure students’ accessibility to knowledge that is useful for their career paths. It is often reckoned that students who scores good grades in mandatory subjects at school are more able to gain more success in life than others. In that case, non-academic subjects contribution to one’s future is trivial, so the idea of eliminating these subjects from the curriculum is reasonable. Moreover, cost and space might be another compelling reason for not teaching music and sport since the cost for facilities like sound proof materials and designated facilities are excessively expensive.

On the other hand, music and sports lessons should also be carried at school. Since students are often under tremendous pressure from their studies, these gifted subjects provide students sense of relaxation, which might quickly relieve stress beside exhausting lessons and somehow encourage their academic performances when returning to mandatory courses. That way, their mental health is well treated, therefore significantly reduce the risk of suffering from mental illness. Non-academic disciplines such as music and sports could bring out hidden talents which some gifted may not known before because of family orientaton or financial issues. For that reason, public lessons is one of the best places where students are given the opportunity to discover and develop their capability in athletics and aesthetic fields as potential students might be specially trained in the hope that they will become music and sport figures in the near future.

In short, I think that academic subjects are indeed significant, but non-academic subjects such as music and sports should not be abandoned because of its positive impacts on students.