Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, more and more graduates choose to take a gap year to work or travel before pursuing tertiary education. While this development may bring about some benefits, I would argue they are eclipsed the drawbacks.

On the one hand, I accept that taking a year-off may offers some benefits. To begin with, the deferment of study gives students an opportunity to enrich themselves with knowledge and practical experiences that are advantageous to their future career. If students spend their gap time doing a paid job, they will be equipped with working skills such as the ability to work underpressure and time management, leadership, problems solving that attract employers. From another perspective, travelling during gap year sounds appealing. Those travellers are able to absorb knowledge of diverse cultural settings which they might not find in textbooks.

On the other hand, postponing college plans may do more harm than good. Youngsters might face lots of difficulties of the life out of campus. In fact, some gap-year takers may fall behind their studies. The deferment of study might make it harder for them to recall knowledge after a long time being away from formal schooling. As a result, students who not have enough firm determination are likely to end up their studies when their gap time is over. This may affect the recruitment market where the number of intellectual workforces are getting fewer and fewer. For those reasons, choosing to take a gap before entering higher education may not be a positive development.

In conclusion, although the idea of taking a gap year is benefical in many aspects, the drawbacks of the trend worth more consideration.