Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results while others believe it is more important to reward students who show improvement

It is true that rewarding pupils is an integral part of the educational process. While some advocate that young learners achieving the most outstanding outcomes should be rewarded by the school, I concur that giving awards to students making substantial efforts has more upsides.

To commence with, there are a wide range of reasons why top tiers should be granted an incentive. The first one is that offering prizes creates a highly competitive studying environment at school, which makes significant contributions to motivating children to strive harder to earn flying colors in school. Another notable reason is that, on top of this, the best students identified can nurture their talents. My own high school is a typical example. Learners who have the highest performances would be able to participate in the school’s teams and compete in national competitions, which makes a name for the school.

On the other side of the coin, I believe that it is much better to reward those who make strides in their studies, which gives equal chances for every mediocre student to acknowledge their efforts. Another benefit is that awarding incentives is able to promote learning for enjoyment and understanding, not to gain high achievements. Furthermore, it is a fact that children in modern life are under a great volume of pressure of studying and being compared with their top classmates. Thus, giving awards helps reduce exam pressure and cheating to score marks.

In conclusion, whilst pupils’ good grades recognized by the awards offer numerous benefits, it seems to me that the merits of awarding students who have exerted efforts into their studies are more immense.