Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that competition is good for children, while others believe that cooperation is better. In my opinion, I believe that each action has its own positive and negative impacts and that both should be taught to children.

On one hand, there are many benefits to encourage children to compete with each other. Firstly, it motivates children that they need to work hard to get what they want. Rankings in classes, for example, allows children to understand their ability and prompted them to study harder to achieve better ranks. Secondly, it is also a great opportunity to teach children how to deal with win or failure. If the child wins, he or she can gain higher self-esteem and learn how to comfort others who didn’t win. And if the child lost, it would be a good time for parents or teachers to show the child how to process all the negative emotions. However, over competitive could turn the children to selfish adults. Moreover, if the child repeatedly lost in the competitions, he or she might suffer depression and low self-esteem.

On the other hand, collaboration also has advantages and drawbacks. For the positive impacts, it teaches children the importance of cooperation. Students can learn to better communicate their thoughts with others and to consolidate various opinions into a single plan. All of which could be extremely useful in the professional environment. But, solely relying on working with others could be potentially harmful. The students might make it a habit to depend on the teammates or be the person who took on all the responsibilities. Additionally, it is much more difficult to correctly assess one’s ability if the projects are done by the group and, therefore, teachers might not know whether the students truly understand the lesson.

In conclusion, it seems to me that mixed skills between competing and cooperating would be the best way to make children more ready to face their real life in adulthood.