Today more people are overweight than ever before.

What in your opinion are the primary causes of this?

What measures can be taken to overcome this epidemic?

The increasing number of obese people has become a major issue in many countries today. This essay will list several reasons behind this phenomenon and some actions that can be taken to tackle this problem.

The reasons for overweight are simple; it is either caused by the overconsumption of food or caused by the lack of physical activities. In other words, people only gain weight when the calories intake exceed those burned by the body. And between these two reasons, diet is much more important exercise because the body burns a certain level of energies to keep the heart beating and the organs functioning, regardless of the level of exercise. People today have easy access to various food, such as the cafe, supermarket, gas station or even vending machines, resulting people eating an excess amount of calories without knowing. Moreover, the lack of knowledge about nutrients is another reason responsible for obesity. Otherwise, one can snack all day without feeling satisfied and full that will result in the excess intake of food.

There are several methods to reduce obesity within a nation. Firstly, increasing the number of activities that individual do on the daily basis. Holding a competition, adding extra P.E. lessons in school or requiring employers to provide mandatory workout times are all great ways to allow people to move more. Secondly, education on the nutrients. People need to understand basic food composition in order to eat a balanced, healthy, and fulfilling meal. Lastly, imposing an additional tax on fast food while incentivizing those who buy fresh and healthy food can allow people to afford a quality healthy style with little costs.

To summarize, obesity is caused by the insufficient exercise or by the excess food. And the best way to reduce the obesity problem is to change these two aspects.