Today, many people do not know their neighbours in large cities. What problems does this cause? What can be done about this?

It is undeniable that nowadays, most of the citizens find that their neighbours are strangers to them in the urban area. In this essay, I will shed light on some reasons contributing to this phenomenon before showing some viable solutions to alleviate this potential issue.

The gap between people in a neighbourhood can be contributed to two main factors. First of all, the fast-paced life and competitive labour market are the key rationale for this problem. This is because people spend most of their time completing the stuff in companies as well as have pressure from the boss. Therefore, they lack of time to spend with their neighbours. Furthermore, lacking community activities also attribute to this issue. The citizens don't have special occasions to contact and communicate with each others in the neighbourhood. As a result of lacking public activities, the time that people spent to meet their neighbours is quite limited.

However, there are some feasible solutions to combat this problem. Firstly, companies and factories should offer more days off for workers. For instance, the weekends or special events such as Independence day, Mid Autumn,... when workers can spend time with their families and neighbours. In addition to this, the government should organize more social activities for the citizens to cultivate the society relationship. For example, in Bien Hoa city, Mid Autumn festival is taken place annually in every neighbourhood. Therefore., household in the same town have great time together as a huge family.

In conclusion, the fast-paced life and lacking community activities are two main rationale that lead to the gap between people in the same neighbourhood, which can be combated by companies, which can offer more days off, and the government, which can create more social events for the citizens