Some people think that some types of criminals should not go to prison. Instead they should do unpaid work in the community. To what extent do you agree?

It is argued that some law breakers should not be sentenced to jail, but rather be assigned to community services as a punishment.This essay agrees with that suggestion completely, for the positive impact it provides on the society and the convict himself. This essay will first look at how the re-integration back in to the society will minimize the chances of some types of convicts of them committing another felony, then discuss how prison life will present the law breaker to an intense criminal atmosphere.

Crimes that presents minor harm that can be compensated, has motives that reflects some types of needs(sometimes severe needs) can better be dealt with through the community rather than exiling the criminal from his community, and community services just offers that. Serving the society can be a suitable punishment and also a second chance for the law breaker and his community to assess the causes to be eliminated and to provide new means for a new start. For example robbery felony can be a result of severe need for money and lack of employment in this case a suitable job and community support will suffice.

Prison is an ensemble of a wide range of criminals, forcing an ordinary person with a minor felony into this massive criminal community will surely worsen his case. Jail life will always maximize the criminal side of a person, as a result the person will most likely widen his range of possible crimes, more criminal techniques and even presents him with potential victims.

To conclude, some types of crimes must as a necessity be worked out within the society to speed up the rehabilitation process and to minimize chances of re-occurrence.