Some people think that sports play an important role in the development of society. Others think they are nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A question has been raised whether people's professed interest in sports has contributed to the development of society or they are merely a form of recreation. Although I understand why some people support the view that sport is only something people do to pass the time, I still believe there is much to gain from sports as far as society is concerned.

There are several reasons why people do not hold sport in high regard. The first one is that sport is commonly thought of as a niche hobby with its subculture and community. Outsiders of these types of communities may not be aware of how high the payment organizations often make to get a sponsorship or partnership deal or how many millions of dollars a varsity team earns through collegiate football. Moreover, non-sports fans are deterred from reading sports columns because there is so much jargon being used to talk about a subject that is not of their interest that they want to divert their attention to other topics. Over time, they become indifferent to what effects sports have had on the development of society and associate sports with the memories they had in PE classes at school.

Nevertheless, I am in favour of the opinion that sports have made big contributions to our society for several reasons. Firstly, sports bring people together and build a stronger community. Every year stadiums worldwide have their seats filled with millions of spectating fans during the finals of major sporting tournaments, like the UEFA Champions League, Wimbledon, or Super Bowl, let alone the TV viewerships and radio listeners. Secondly, sports intangibly contribute to the better physical well-being of the public. Apart from striving to attain the fitness level or body shape of sports players, people may also partake in athletic endeavours provided by their employers. Free gym memberships, for example, are a type of sport-related CSR program that is increasingly popular.

In conclusion, despite understanding why some people believe there is nothing more to sports than a form of physical entertainment, I do not think the reasons make a cogent case. Thus, I still hold the view that sports shape and pervade the society we live in today.