Some people think that strict punishments for driving offenses are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have differing views with regard to the question of how to make the road safer. In my view, both punishments along with a range of others measures can be used together to endorse driving habits.

To begin with, strict punishments can certainly help to encourage people to drive more safely. Penalties for dangerous drivers can act as a deterrent, which means that they avoid repeating the same offense. There are various sorts of driver penalties, such as small fine, license suspension, driver awareness courses, and even prison sentence. The aim of this punishment is to slow down dangerous drivers that their actions have negative consequences. As a result, we would hope that drivers become disciplined and alert and that they follow rules more carefully.

On the other hand, I believe that safe driving can be promoted in several different ways that do not punish drivers. First and foremost, it is important to educate people before they start to drive, this can be done in schools or even a part of extended or even more difficult driving test. Secondly, safe road design, in which more attention could be paid. For an illustration, road signs can be used to warn people, speed bumps, turbulence and road signs can be combined to calm down traffic, speed camera can help to deter people for driving too quickly. Finally, the government and local council could reduce road accidents by investing in better public transport, consequently, fewer people would need to travel by car.

In conclusion, punishment can help to prevent bad driving. Perhaps, other safety measures should also be introduced.