Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it Others think students should spend time on more important subjects Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is often said that students should study the discipline of food and its preparation. While I accept that it may take a little time for it, I believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.

The negative implications of studying the science of food are often discussed in terms of three keys areas. Firstly, people often do not realise the purpose of scientific knowledge of food, exactly they find it more straightforward and attractive to taste food than to research about it. Secondly, when it comes to studying how to prepare food, students have already parents preparing meals for them, so they don’t care much. Lastly, people argue that students should focus on subjects for the college entrance exam, and food science sometimes does not relate to their major in the future.

However, I would favour the idea that the scientific knowledge of food will bring them many advantages. For example, it will provide an understanding of food components such as carbohydrates, proteins, fats and minerals, so that individuals can choose food suit body conditions regardless of if they suffer from obesity. Moreover, people can decide what kinds of food should consume more due to health benefits. One field of food science is microbiology which is essential to bring us information about the possibilities that our food contains toxic bacteria. In addition, learning food’s preparation will increase the prospect of becoming self-sufficient when students live apart from home.

In conclusion, I support that students should spend time studying food science as the base knowledge to ensure high quality and safety for themselves.