Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on important subjects.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the modern learning environment, students can choose specific subjects to enhance their individual learning. Many people think that the science of food and its preparation should be part of the school curriculum, while others and I think that it is not necessary.

On the one hand, a certain amount of in-depth knowledge about food processing can have many benefits for your students in terms of improved well-being. It is a fact that many non-toxic ingredients can be harmful to people's health if they are cooked in a mixture. For example, under high temperature conditions, substances in various foods can react and then they are transformed into poisons that cause fatal consequences within minutes of ingestion, such as botulism, or that cause chronic diseases such as blood clots. The teaching of food science and food processing can help in such cases, so they should be included in the course plan to equip students with the necessary knowledge to avoid potential health risks.

On the other hand, other people and I are of the opinion that schools should teach students more important academic disciplines, particularly liberal and social sciences for the sake of their future. At first, the youth can acquire a wide range of skills which can be favorable for upper learning. Most prestigious universities accept students according to both high school academic results and on merits. Secondly, students would be likely to secure a good job at the workplace after graduation. Having a profound knowledge plus practical skills, they can easily attain a high-ranked position with a lucrative salary in a renowned company. Therefore, it is crucially important to place pragmatic subjects at the top priority for a solid foundation for learners’ future prospect.

While it is a reasonable proposition to integrate food science, it is more important that core subjects be emphasized due to a positive future career outlook. Whenever possible, I believe that food science topics should be incorporated into the school curriculum as a complementary activity.