Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on important subjects.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

According to some, food science should be integrated in the school syllabus to teach students how to prepare it. However, I believe that attention should be paid on other important subjects for some reasons.

On the one hand, the option to teach students about the science of food is justified to some extent. Acquiring good culinary skills allows them to take control over their lives autonomously. It is prevalent that many adolescent students who live away from their parents struggle to prepare a basic meal for themselves, especially those who have not received parental guidance before embracing the world. Therefore, culinary courses are needed in order to alleviate their diet and avoid health illnesses. As a result, it will offer them a healthier lifestyle to work and study more efficiently.

On the other hand, I believe that these courses should not be compulsory since other subjects play a significant role in their future career. The current academic curriculum is already full of theory-heavy subjects and to cover the most part of them is indeed a challenging task for students, not to mention the exams they have to prepare for each one. Yet, there are some of the mandatory subjects for students who are going to graduate, precisely, these are the key subjects that teachers used to evaluate their overall performance. For instance, Vietnamese students must possess an 8 or above in math to successfully achieve an excellent-level degree. Furthermore, the domain they choose in the future may include career-specific skills and emphasis should be laid on the relevant subjects that allow them to optimize their potential. Hence, they should be held in higher esteem to ensure their academic outcome and career prospects.

To conclude, although culinary courses are important to shape one’s fitness and health, I believe that those should be taken in accordance with students’ willingness and other essential subjects should be high on the agenda.