Some people think that studying from the past teaches us nothing about today’s life. Others argue that history is a valuable source of information. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been a considerable debate about the values of studying history. While some said it is useless, others and I believe it plays an important role in providing information for humans. This essay will discuss both views and give my opinion.

To commence with, it is understandable that some people think studying from the past is useless. The main reason is that we have more pressure in studying while we can not apply it in real life much. For instance, when students study history, they certainly have to memorise the date and place of events. Therefore, students are stressed to remember exactly the time of occurrences which is not really relevant to today’s life. So creating more pressure and inapplicability is the main reason that some consider history useless.

However, there are also many reasons why others and I believe history is a good source of information. First, history provides us exact information about national formation. As history allows us to access exact time and place of events, we can know how our ancestors had to fight to protect our countries. As a result, we will know our responsibility to protect the countries formed thousands of years ago. Second, history also helps us to have a deeper understanding of our cultures and traditional values. From history, we can also know more about the development of our countries; therefore, we have better knowledge of how our ancestors lived, how they celebrated events such as New Years. As a result, we will know how to remain and organize these events in today’s life. So providing exact information about national formation and cultures and traditional values are the main reasons why some and I think history is a useful source of information.

In a nutshell, while some people think learning from the past is useless, others and I believe it is a good source providing information because of reasons mentioned above.