Some people think that the teenage years are the happiest time of most people’s lives. Others think that adult life brings more happiness, in spite of greater responsibility.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Some would argue that childhood is the most joyful period in one's life; however, others believe that adulthood brings more joy despite the huge burden of engagements. Although being an adult enables people to have more freedom and money to travel and try new experiences in life, I believe that children have more opportunities to be happy because of their innocence and responsibility-free life.

On the one hand, some would say that mature people have more freedom in decision making and more financial resources that enable them spend on leisure and entertainment, such as travelling abroad to different nations where they would try new experiences of life. Also, the buying power is a source of pleasure for this group of people, unlike children who rely on their parents to buy things for them. For instance, a study that was carried out by a group of scientists from Cambridge University revealed that purchasing new items is the predominant stimulus behind feeling happiness amongst mature people.

On the other hand, young people are rather naive, cherubic and have less pessimistic perception to life. That is to say, for a child the most important thing in life is to spend more time in playing with their pals not bothered with any sense of responsibility. What sets children apart is their simplicity and the way how they perceive life in a very optimistic way. They would dream widely and love deeply. For example, a study that was conducted by Manchester University revealed that stress and depression levels amongst adults are higher than amongst young people.

In conclusion, while adults have more authority to make decisions about their life and have more financial resources to spend on leisure and recreational activities, I strongly believe that these material things bring a temporary source of joy and children are far more happier than adults because they have almost no responsibilities and have different view to life.