Some people think that there should be strict laws to control the amount of noise a person makes because of the disturbance it causes to people

Discuss both advantages and disadvantages

Nowadays, noise pollution has been raising many concerns for people. Hence, the government should create strict policies to limit the noise people generate in the community. This essay will explore the merits and drawbacks of this.

First of all, noise is now a major concern in most communities, especially in urban areas where noise produced by construction workers using heavy machinery, honking of cars, music and over population and the likes, are the order of the day. This level of noise causes lots of distraction, stress, headaches, and in the long run can lead to hearing difficulties. If the government ensure strict laws to prohibit avoidable sounds and excessive noise making in the community will lead to more productivity among workers as they will be able to focus on their work and as well as reducing the risk of becoming deaf in the future. For example, a recent study proved that individuals that get exposed to over 20 decibels of noise on a daily basis are likely to develop tinnitus, which is a perception of ringing or sounds in the ear, and eventually deafness.

On the other hand, if the government gives strict rules to control the level of noise people make. This will cause development to slow down. First, the rate at which building are constructed to meet the rapid development of the community will reduce. For instance, a building company using heavy machinery do so, to meet up with delivery time as well as to deliver a fine project. Secondly, it is quite difficult to restrict the amount of noise a person makes. After all it is their right to make noise. For example, it will be unfair to limit the noise people make when they are celebrating.

To conclude, the merits of reducing noise are that people will become productive due to less interferences in their work and the chances of suffering from deafness will be reduced. While, the drawbacks are that, it may be unnecessary due to the rate of development and may violate human right.