Some people think universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. Others believe that this is an unacceptable policy.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a debate that has been on-going on how many male and female students should be accepted by the universities. Many believes that keeping an equal number of seats for girls and boys is a good idea, however some people believe that this is not a good policy. Although I agree with the idea to keep reservations for female students, I also believe that keeping equal numbers of seats in every subject would not be an effective educational strategy.

First of all, in my opinion we need to break down the admission problem that most of the universities are facing these days. All educational institutes have limited seats that are approved by the government. Due to this, the admission in these universities are based on merits. For example, in my university, they accept the students with criteria like minimum percentage & subjects that are studied previously. Let us assumed that if university add one more creterion that they will accept equal numbers of female & male, then there is a high chance that more qualified male student would not get an admission but some females will. This happens due to unequal gender ratio in my country. Currently we have 4:10 ratio for women vs men. In this case, there are two possible problems: 1. University will not get students as per the merit. 2. Many qualified students will not get an admission just because of their gender.

On the other hand, we are required to know the individuals' interest in the particular subjects. In my experience, many girls are intereted in courses like fashion modeling, sewing & clothes designing, airhosting, dietry and nuetritional subjects, etc. In contrast, many boys are intereted in mechanical, civil engineering, construction & field related sujects. If the equal seats criterion has been imposed then there are chances that universities will end up with empty seats for some of the subjects that we have discussed above.

Nowadays many universities have a policy where they have some limited positions reserved for female. This is mainly to overcome the issues like gender inequality & to support the women empowerment. Instead of offering specific number of seats, many institutes offers different types of scholorship specifically to females.

In conclusion, I really support the idea to keep some seats or addition support for female students but by keeping 50-50 acceptance ratio, we may end up with doing unjustice to some deserving candidates. Therefore, it is not realistic point to add into any universities' policies.